England Legends vs World Legends On Sky

November 27 06:28 2007 Print This Article

The world’s top football (Soccer to those from the US) stars are to pit their wits against each other to celebrate the centenary of the Professional Footballers’ Association, and the game will have live broadcasting on Sky Sports 1 from 1pm on Sunday.

A team consist of England Legends will be managed by Terry Venables are going to meet Sven Goran Eriksson’s Rest of the World XI at City of Manchester Stadium.

Terry Venables also calling Newcastle United Legends to play for the England team. Alan Shearer once again wearing the arm band as the captain for England, while Warren Barton, Robert Lee, Les Ferdinand and Peter Beardsley will also palying.

The England Legends will come up against a formidable array of talent including Gianfranco Zola, Ian Rush and Roberto di Matteo.

“The fact that they want to use this, their centenary year, to raise £1 million to help young children, is typical of the association and I am delighted and proud to be able to play a small part in helping them reach their goal. It will be an exciting afternoon and the calibre of players on display should ensure that it is an occasion fitting of such a worthwhile event.” Said Venables.

“The only problem I am having is trying to fit everyone into my team, the response has been phenomenal – I only wish I had such talent available to me when I was in charge of the full England team! ”

Rest of the World boss Eriksson is also thrilled to be part of the event. He said: “It is an honour to be invited and I am delighted to be able to give something back to the city that has made me feel so welcome.”

“It will be strange managing a team against England. Maybe I will be able to use some of my knowledge of their players to help the Rest of the World.”

Want to attend the game? You can buy the tickets for the match here.

Goalkeepers: Chris Woods.
Defenders: Warren Barton, Des Walker, Dave Watson, Gary Mabbutt, Gary Pallister, John Scales, Graeme Le Saux.
Midfielders: Jamie Redknapp, Darren Anderton, Dennis Wise, Robert Lee, Ray Parlour, Steve Hodge, Tony Daley, Steve Stone.
Forwards: Alan Shearer (captain), Les Ferdinand, Paul Walsh, Peter Beardsley, Teddy Sheringham.

Goalkeepers: Neville Southall (Wales), Erik Thorstvedt (Norway), Thomas Ravelli (Sweden)
Defenders: Roland Neilson (Sweden), Lorenzo Amaruso (Italy), Richard Gough (Scotland), Arthur Numan (Netherlands), Denis Irwin (Republic of Ireland)
Midfielders: Jay Jay Okocha (Nigeria), Roberto Di Matteo (Italy), Ali Benarbia (Algeria), Andrei Kanchelskis (Russia), Anders Limpar (Sweden), Gary McAllister (Scotland), Neil Lennon (Northern Ireland), Dino Baggio (Italy), Stefan Freund (Germany), Dmitri Alenichev (Russia)
Forwards: Gianfranco Zola (Italy), Mark Hughes (Wales), Ian Rush (Wales), Niall Quinn (Republic of Ireland), Ally McCoist (Scotland), Shaun Goater (Bermuda), Sergei Yuran (Russia).

(Source: SkySports.com)

  Article "tagged" as:
view more articles

About Article Author

write a comment


No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.